2022 WINNER – National Medal of Museum & Library Service

Six Institutions to Receive Nation’s Highest Honor for Museum and Library Service

From Missouri to Delaware, North Carolina to California, Top Federal Honor Recognizes Excellence in Service to Communities



WASHINGTON, DC—The Institute of Museum and Library Services today is pleased to announce the six recipients of the 2022 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor given to libraries and museums that make significant and exceptional contributions to their communities. Over the past 26 years, the award has celebrated institutions that are making a difference for individuals, families, and communities.


The 2022 National Medal recipients are:



·    The Amistad Research Center (New Orleans, LA)

·    St. Louis County Library (St. Louis, MO)

·    Wilmington Institute Free Library (Wilmington, DE)


·    Asheville Art Museum (Asheville, NC)

·    Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture (Seattle, WA)

·    Oakland Museum of California (Oakland, CA)


Selected from 30 national finalists, the 2022 National Medal for Museum and Library Service winners represent institutions that provide dynamic programming and services that exceed expected levels of service. Through their community outreach, these institutions bring about change that touches the lives of individuals and helps communities thrive.


“IMLS is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2022 National Medals for Museum and Library Service,” said IMLS Director Crosby Kemper. “These great institutions are not only centers of excellence but also of passion for serving their communities in their unique individual ways. We look forward to celebrating them in Washington, DC with our first in-person ceremony in three years. They all exemplify the cultural and community engagement we have missed during the pandemic.”


The awards will be presented during an engaging event in Washington, DC in July.